Exercise № 2

Time for
a check-up!

Welcome to our planning check-up!

We all undergo regular medical check-ups. Corporations are advised to do the same, particularly with regard to their processes. For planning to be really successful, the status quo of the current planning situation is crucial.

Do you want to achieve outstanding results? Then go ahead, take the plunge: Come to us for a check-up and find out where improvements need to be made! Your business, your department –  and you personally – can only stand to benefit from this. Work on your decisiveness and get fit for new markets and challenges!

Unit 1

A clear result: Take a moment to answer three questions from our case history questionnaire and find out how sound your planning really is.

Go to unit

Unit 2

A clear goal in mind: once the results are clear, you’ll get our therapy plan. Practical solutions which can drive your business further.

Go to unit

Unit 1

Unit 1:
Case History

A clear result

Status Quo

How sound is your planning?

We listen carefully and ask the right questions. In this unit you can undergo a check-up with the help of our mini questionnaire based on the top 3 most frequent questions concerning planning. In Unit 2 you will get the appropriate therapy plan: here you’ll find out which changes can be deduced from it.

Yet first of all, you need to get an idea of what state your planning processes are in. An honest result can be painful, but it is a crucial step towards making a positive change. So take a deep breath and off you go!

 Case History Questionnaire

Question 1:

Does your company repeatedly experience bottlenecks in production/processes, poor plant utilization or capacity problems?

You’re not alone! We say this because we encounter this problem in many of our projects: Bottlenecks lead to lasting disruptions in operating procedures. Plants which do not run at full capacity mean inflated production costs. A high number of cross-dependencies makes a planner’s task even more complex. How can you change this? Follow the questionnaire and read more in Unit 2

Congratulations! You seem to have your processes under control. Maybe you already deploy planning software? If you would like a second opinion to see how you can make even better improvements,  just contact us!

Question 2:

Does this sound familiar? The Sales Department would like to be more flexible when it comes to binding new customers, the head of production would like level machine capacity utilization and management would like to see stock kept at as low a level as possible. Who will come out on top?

Securing customer loyalty by guaranteeing high flexibility and short delivery times is cetainly an advisable strategy. In our experience, popular decisions of this kind tend to be at the detriment of other departments as far as customer loyalty is concerned. In order to balance this out, the relevant targets must be defined which allow an assessment. If you’d like to see how this works, then read more in Unit 2

A production department that continuously operates at full capacity increases a company’s profitability. If this is your assumption, what’s your take on delivery reliability and high customer satisfaction? As these are both vital for the lasting success of a company, you should take a look at both sides of the coin. Striking a balance between both targets is easier if their impact on the entire venture can be assessed. Read more about this in Unit 2.

Maintaining low stock has a positive influence on the company results and on its liquidity. Particularly in market segments which are under immense cost pressure, these indicators need to be observed closely. The same applies to the issue of high flexibility and short delivery times which satisfied clients clients expect of you. An optimal trade-off should be determined only when the effects of both targets on the entire venture can be assessed. We show you how this works in Unit 2.

Question 3:

Defining the right KPIs is one of the most essential requirements when it comes to assessing target attainment. How confident are you that your goals are based on the right KPIs?

Planning errors based on poor decision-making occurs more often than people think! Defining the correct measurands is not always clear, even for experienced specialists. A lack of systematically processed data in a company is not uncommon. In Unit 2 we will show you examples of how the relevant KPIs can be identified one step at a time.

Very good. You have the necessary requirements for optimal planning. If you would like to know how you can develop more new optimization potential , we would be glad to show you how. Contact us!

Essence

» An honest result can be painful, but it is a crucial step towards making a positive change.«

Unit 2

Unit 2:
Therapy

A clear goal in mind

Solution 1:

How can I best optimize my processes for bottlenecks and capacity issues?

If there are bottlenecks in your production process, then decisive action is called for! Focus on where the bottleneck occurs and on the upstream and downstream processes. Relieving the bottleneck almost always leads to an improvement in output, even if it is attained at the detriment of other areas.

Don’t make production quantities and sequences dpeendent on client orders! In this way you can balance machine capacity far more easily. The number of set-up procedures decreases, flexibility increases and delivery reliability also. With this method you can also get by with lower stock.

With OPTANO you optimize your  processes in every phase of your production because you already consider the targets and delivery dates in production planning. You circimvent foreseeable bottlenecks and run your machines at as high a capacity as possible. A further effect: You avoid deviating from fixed schedules and in cases where this isn’t possible, these can still be identified in advance – another bonus, e.g. for customer loyalty.

Therapy Plan

How to get on track!

 

Once you have the results, the next step is the therapy plan. In this unit we show you how to treat some of the most common symptoms. Learn about the solutions available for the top 3 questions in unit 1. They all originate from real-life scenarios which were developed in OPTANO projects. Identifying where improvements can be made motivates you to take the first step!

Solution 2:

 

What characterizes decision-making across all departments without incurring frictional losses?

For decisiveness to develop across all departments, make a start with the following:

  • Make sure you include all those involved in the process early on
  • Take into particular consideration the preliminary and follow-up jobs implemented by planners, executors, the sales team, management, etc.
  • Create an open-minded atmosphere for discussions where problems can be addressed
  • Establish clear rules
  • Make sure you have objectivity by providing facts and data.

OPTANO is designed to strike a balance between competing targets. Compare diverging scenarios with one another and make the best possible choice for the sum of your targets. OPTANO gives you sound, AI-based recommendations on how to proceed and thus simplifies your decision-making process. This is our understanding of more decisiveness!

Solution 3:

How can I achieve a really successful definition and powerful visualization of my KPIs?

In order to define targets on the basis of KPIs,  you have to be clear on a set of issues:

  • What can actually be measured?
  • When is a target considered achieved?
  • How important is a target in dependency on other targets?
  • Which interdependencies and cause-effect relationships are linked to the target?
  • How can my KPIs be visualized?

Once these issues have been clarified, there is nothing to stand in the way of smart process management.

OPTANO performs an in-depth check of your data. This guarantees that your KPI data basis is reliable, correct and conclusive. The results are individualized reporting and visualization which create transparency. Present links, for example by connecting diverse views. The mathematics behind OPTANO ensure that your results can be reproduced at any time.

Essence

» Identifying where improvements can be made motivates you to take the first step!«

Homework № 2

Training Mindfulness!

Homework № 2: Spot the differences in the photos!

Finally! Homework that you actually enjoy doing! As mathematicians and software engineers, we love solving puzzles. This is why we would like you to solve a little brainteaser at the end of each exercise. This time our puzzle is all about training mindfulness.

How many differences can you find in the image on the right? Here’s a little tip:  Each element is to be considered as one.

Did you spot the differences? Well done! Then send your correct answer including your name and surname, address and phone number by using our contact link below

Send your answer

Prizes

1st Prize:

A photoshoot styled on our campaign.
If your name is drawn, you will have the opportunity to choose a theme of your choice for your personal photoshoot. It can be your hobby, a business issue, whatever you want. The only condition is that it is complex enough and fits on a 1x1m table. The photoshoot will take place in Bielefeld, Germany. Travel expenses within Germany as well as an overnight stay in a hotel are included in the prize.

2nd – 5th Prizes:

Hardcover edition of »Things Come Apart.« by McLellan

6th – 10th Prizes:

Game »Die Kunst Aufzuräumen«

Legal Notice:
Dissembled objects will not be reassembled. Further technical agreements concerning the photoshoot will be clarified with you in advance. The rights to the finished product will be assigned to the winner and OPTANO.

Legal Announcement

Terms and Conditions of Participation

This competition isn’t just for glory and prestige! Our first prize is a photoshoot in the style of our campaign. Conditions: You correctly answer all 10 of our fairly mind-boggling questions in our Exercise! Campaign. You can follow our campaign in our newsletter which you will receive as soon as a new exercise is online.

The competition closes in fall 2020

Show terms and conditions of participation

Your answer

Send your right answer to us!

Send the right answer including your contact details such as first and surname, address and telephone number by using the reply form below

We only use the E-mail address you provide us in order to reply to you. We undertake not to forward your details to third parties except in the case of judicial orders. Details such as first and/or surnames as well as titles are provided on a voluntary basis and are only used by us to address you personally. More information on this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

Exercise № 2

Durch­checken
lassen!

Willkommen beim Planungs-Check-Up!

Jeder Mensch unterzieht sich regelmäßigen Gesundheits-Checks. Für Unternehmen ist das im Hinblick auf Ihre Prozesse ganz genauso anzuraten. Um Planung wirklich erfolgreich zu machen, ist der Status Quo der planerischen Ausgangslage entscheidend.

Wollen Sie zu herausragenden Ergebnissen kommen? Dann trauen Sie sich: Unterziehen Sie sich unserem Planungs-Check-Up und machen Sie sich bewusst, welche Verbesserungen bei Ihnen anstehen! Ihr Unternehmen, Ihre Abteilung und Sie selbst können nur profitieren. Arbeiten Sie an Ihrer Entscheidungsstärke und werden Sie fit für neue Märkte und Herausforderungen!

Unit 1

Ein klarer Befund: Beantworten Sie drei schnelle Fragen aus unserem Anamnese-Fragebogen und finden Sie heraus, wie stark Ihre Planung ist.

Zur Unit springen

Unit 2

Das Ziel vor Augen: auf den Befund folgt der Behandlungsplan. Praktische Lösungsansätze, die Sie in Ihrem Business weiter bringen.

Zur Unit springen

Unit 1

Unit 1:
Anamnese

Ein klarer Befund

Status Quo

Wie stark ist Ihre Planung?

Wir hören genau hin und stellen die richtigen Fragen. In dieser Unit überprüfen Sie sich selbst mit Hilfe unseres Mini-Fragebogens anhand der Top 3 der häufigsten Planungsfragestellungen. In Unit 2 bekommen Sie den dazu gehörigen Behandlungsplan: erfahren Sie dort, welche Veränderungen sich daraus ableiten lassen.

Aber machen Sie sich hier zunächst ein Bild davon, wie es um Ihre Planungsprozesse bestellt ist. Ein ehrlicher Befund kann schmerzhaft sein, ist aber ein notwendiger Schritt, um positive Veränderungen einzuleiten. Also: Tief einatmen und los!

Anamnese-Fragebogen

Fragestellung 1:

Kommt es in Ihrem Betrieb wiederholt zu Engpässen in der Produktion/Abwicklung, schwacher Anlagenauslastung oder Kapazitätsproblemen?

Damit sind Sie nicht allein. Wir sagen das, weil uns dieses Problem in vielen unserer Projekte begegnet: Engpässe führen zu nachhaltigen Störungen im Betriebsablauf. Nicht ausgelastete Anlagen lassen die Fertigungskosten explodieren. Ein hohes Maß an Querabhängigkeiten macht die Aufgabe des Planers noch komplexer. Wie Sie das ändern? Folgen Sie dem Fragebogen und lesen Sie in Unit 2 weiter!

Herzlichen Glückwunsch. Sie scheinen Ihre Prozesse gut im Griff zu haben. Möglicherweise arbeiten Sie bereits mit einer Planungssoftware? Wenn Sie Interesse an einer zweiten Meinung haben, um zu schauen, wie es sogar noch besser gehen könnte, kontaktieren Sie uns!

Fragestellung 2:

Kommt Ihnen das bekannt vor: Der Vertrieb möchte mehr Flexibilität für eine schnelle Neukundenbindung, die Produktionsleitung eine gleichmäßige Maschinenauslastung und das Management möglichst geringe Lagerbestände. Wer setzt sich in Ihrem Betrieb durch?

Kunden durch hohe Flexibilität und kurze Lieferzeiten an das Unternehmen zu binden, ist eine durchaus empfehlenswerte Strategie. Unsere Erfahrung ist, dass populäre Entscheidungen dieser Art mitunter zu Lasten angrenzender Abteilungen auf die Kundenbindung einzahlen. Um einen Ausgleich zu schaffen, gilt es, entsprechende Zielvorgaben zu formulieren, die eine Bewertung zulassen. Wenn Sie interessiert wie das geht, lesen Sie weiter in Unit 2.

Eine kontinuierlich ausgelastete Produktion erhöht die Profitabilität Ihres Unternehmens. Wenn das Ihre Annahme ist, wie denken Sie über Liefertreue und hohe Kundenzufriedenheit? Weil beides für einen nachhaltigen Unternehmenserfolg wichtig ist, sollte man sich mit beiden Seiten der Medaille beschäftigen. Die Abwägung zwischen beiden Zielen wird einfacher, wenn deren Auswirkung auf die Gesamtunternehmung bewertet werden kann. Mehr dazu in Unit 2.

Geringe Lagerbestände haben einen positiven Einfluss auf das Unternehmensergebnis und die Liquidität. Gerade in Marktsegmenten, die unter einem starken Kostendruck stehen, sind diese Kennzahlen zwingend im Auge zu behalten. Ebenso wie der Aspekt einer hohen Flexibilität und kurzer Lieferfristen, den zufriedene Kunden von Ihnen erwarten. Erst wenn sich die Auswirkungen beider Ziele auf die Gesamtunternehmung bewerten lassen, ist der optimale Trade-off zu bestimmen. In Unit 2 zeigen wir wie das funktioniert.

Fragestellung 3:

Die richtigen KPI zu definieren, gehört zu den wichtigsten Voraussetzungen, um die Zielerreichung zu beurteilen. Wie sicher sind Sie, dass Ihren Zielen die richtigen Kennzahlen zugrunde liegen?

Fehlplanungen aufgrund falscher Entscheidungsgrundlagen kommen häufiger vor als man glauben mag. Die richtigen Messegrößen zu definieren ist selbst für erfahrene Fachleute nicht immer eindeutig. Nicht selten fehlt es an systematisch aufbereiteten Daten im Unternehmen. In Unit 2 zeigen wir exemplarisch, wie die relevanten KPI Schritt für Schritt identifiziert werden können.

Sehr gut. Sie besitzen die notwendigen Voraussetzungen für eine optimale Planung. Falls Sie interessiert, wie Sie sich überdies neues Optimierungspotential erschließen, zeigen wir Ihnen gerne die notwendigen Wege auf. Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Essence

»Ein ehrlicher Befund kann schmerzhaft sein, ist aber ein notwendiger Schritt, um positive Veränderungen einzuleiten.«

Unit 2

Unit 2:
Therapie

Das Ziel vor Augen

Lösungsansatz 1:

Wie komme ich zu einer sinnvollen Optimierung der Prozesse für Engpässe und Auslastungsfragestellungen?

Entstehen Engpässe in Ihrem Produktionsablauf, ist entschlossenes Handeln angezeigt! Fokussieren Sie sich auf die Engpassstelle und die vor- und nachgelagerten Prozesse. Eine Entlastung des Engpasses führt beinahe immer zu einer Verbesserung des Outputs, selbst wenn sie zu Lasten der angrenzenden Stellen erreicht wird.

Entkoppeln Sie die Fertigungsmenge und -reihenfolge von Kundenaufträgen! Auf diese Weise nivelliert sich die Maschinenauslastung leichter. Die Anzahl an Rüstvorgängen wird gesenkt, die Flexibilität erhöht und die Liefertreue gesteigert. Mit dieser Methode kommen Sie überdies mit einem geringeren Lagerbestand aus.

Mit OPTANO optimieren Sie Ihre Produktionsprozesse in jeder Phase Ihrer Fertigung, weil Sie Ziele und Liefertermine bereits in die Produktionsplanung einfließen lassen. Sie vermeiden absehbare Engpässe und fahren Ihre Maschinen grundsätzlich auf der maximal möglichen Auslastung. Ein weiterer Effekt: Terminabweichungen werden vermieden und wo nicht möglich, immerhin vorzeitig erkennbar. Ein weiterer Pluspunkt, z. B. für die Kundenbindung.

Behandlungsplan

So kommen Sie auf die Spur!

Wenn der Befund steht, geht es an den Behandlungsplan. In dieser Unit zeigen wir, wie sich einige der gängigsten Symptome behandeln lassen. Erkunden Sie die Lösungsansätze zu den Top 3 Fragestellungen aus Unit 1. Sie entspringen allesamt realen Szenarien. Zu erkennen, welche Verbesserungen möglich sind, motiviert, den ersten Schritt zu wagen!

Lösungsansatz 2:

Was kennzeichnet eine abteilungsübergreifende Entscheidungsfindung ohne Reibungsverluste?

Um Entscheidungsstärke über Abteilungen hinweg zu entwickeln, beginnen Sie mit diesen Punkten:

  • Beziehen Sie alle am Prozess Beteiligten rechtzeitig ein
  • Berücksichtigen Sie dabei insbesondere vor- und nachbereitende Stellen, wie Planer, Ausführer, Vertrieb, Management, etc.
  • Schaffen Sie eine offene Gesprächsatmosphäre und sprechen Sie Probleme an
  • Stellen Sie klare Spielregeln auf
  • Sorgen Sie für Objektivität durch die Bereitstellung von Daten und Fakten

OPTANO ist darauf ausgelegt, konkurrierende Ziele auszubalancieren. Vergleichen Sie divergierende Szenarien miteinander und treffen die bestmögliche Wahl für die Summe Ihrer Zielvorhaben. Dabei gibt OPTANO Ihnen konkrete, KI-basierte Handlungsempfehlungen und vereinfacht so Ihren Entscheidungsprozess. Das verstehen wir unter mehr Entscheidungsstärke!

Lösungsansatz 3:

Wie kann ich eine wirklich gelungene Definition und eindringliche Visualisierung meiner KPI erreichen?

Um Ziele auf der Basis von KPIs zu definieren, gilt es Klarheit über ein Set von Fragen zu gewinnen:

  • Was kann überhaupt gemessen werden?
  • Wann gilt ein Ziel als erreicht?
  • Wie wichtig ist ein Ziel in Abhängigkeit zu anderen Zielen?
  • Welche Interdependenzen und Wirkzusammenhänge stehen im Zusammenhang mit dem Ziel?
  • Wie kann ich meine KPIs anschaulich visualisieren

Sobald diese Fragen geklärt sind, steht einer sauberen Prozesssteuerung nichts mehr im Wege.

OPTANO unterzieht Daten durchweg einer eingehenden Prüfung. Das gibt Ihnen die Sicherheit, dass Ihre KPI-Datenbasis zuverlässig, korrekt und aussagekräftig ist. Das Ergebnis sind individualisierbare Reportings und Visualisierungen, die Transparenz schaffen. Stellen Sie Zusammenhänge z. B. durch die Verknüpfung diverser Ansichten dar. Die Mathematik hinter OPTANO sorgt dabei jederzeit für eine Reproduzierbarkeit der Ergebnisse.

Essence

»Zu erkennen, welche Verbesserungen möglich sind, motiviert, den ersten Schritt zu wagen!«

Homework № 2

Achtsamkeit schulen!

Homework № 2: Wie viele Unterschiede gibt es in den Bildern?

Endlich mal Hausaufgaben, die Spaß machen! Weil wir als Mathematiker und Softwareingenieure Spaß an Tüfteleien haben, laden wir Sie zum Abschluss jeder Exercise dazu ein, ein kleines Rätsel zu lösen. Dieses mal geht es in unserem Bilderrätsel darum, Ihre Achtsamkeit zu schulen.

Zählen Sie die Abweichungen im rechten Bild! Kleiner Tipp: Jedes Element wird einzeln gewertet.

Alle Abweichungen gefunden? Gut! Dann senden Sie die richtige Ziffer unter Angabe Ihrer Kontaktdaten mit Vor- und Zunamen, Adresse und Telefonnummer einfach über den nachstehenden Kontaktlink.

 

Lösung absenden

Gewinne und Preise

1. Preis:

Ein Fotoshooting im Stil unserer Kampagne.
Wenn Sie ausgelost werden, gewinnen Sie ein Fotoshooting zu einem Thema nach Ihrer Vorgabe, z.B. Ihrem Hobby oder einem Unternehmensthema. Voraussetzung ist, dass es komplex genug ist und auf einen Tisch von 1 x 1 m passt. Das Fotoshooting findet in Bielefeld statt. Eine Anreise aus Deutschland sowie eine Übernachtung im Hotel sind im Gewinn inbegriffen.

2. – 5. Preis:

Hardcover von »Things Come Apart.« von McLellan

6. – 10. Preis:

Spiel »Die Kunst Aufzuräumen«

Rechtliche Hinweise:
Demontierte Gegenstände werden nicht wieder montiert. Weitere, z.B. technisch bedingte Abstimmungen, werden im Rahmen der Bildumsetzung vorab mit Ihnen geklärt. Mit dem fertigen Motiv gehen Nutzungsrechte an Sie und an OPTANO über.

Rechtliches

Teilnahmebedingungen

Hier rätseln Sie nicht nur für Ruhm und Ehre! Unser Hauptgewinn ist ein Fotoshooting im Stil unserer Kampagne. Voraussetzung: Sie beantworten alle 10 mehr oder weniger kniffeligen Hausaufgaben unserer Homeworks zur Kampagne Exercise! korrekt. Am einfachsten können Sie unsere Kampagne über unseren Newsletter verfolgen, den wir Ihnen immer zusenden, sobald eine neue Exercise online ist.
Abgeschlossen wird das Spiel bis zum Sommer 2020.

Teilnahmebedinungen anzeigen

Lösung

Senden Sie die richtige Lösung an uns!

Senden Sie die richtige Lösung unter Angabe Ihrer Kontaktdaten mit Vor- und Zuname, Adresse und Telefonnummer einfach über das nachstehende Antwortformular.

Die von Ihnen angegebene E-Mail-Adresse wird nur für Antworten verwendet. Eine darüberhinausgehende Weitergabe an Dritte ist – abgesehen von etwaigen richterlichen Anordnungen – ausgeschlossen. Die Angaben von Vor- und/oder Nachname sowie Anrede sind freiwillig und dienen nur Ihrer persönlichen Ansprache. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.