Exercise № 4

A powerful tool

 The right tool is crucial!

Experience and know-how are essential in any job. Choosing the right tool is not only crucial in manual trades. The tool you choose for professional decisions not only makes it easier for you to accomplish the forthcoming tasks – in many cases, it actually makes them possible in the first place.

Conversely, this means that the wrong tool can lead to problems: At worst, you end up investing too much time and energy without getting the results you were aiming for or you even end up causing damage.

This is precisely the case when it comes to planning issues. Of course you can solve your planning manually and devise a plan based on experience and estimation. However, once it reaches a certain magnitude, a procedure takes up too much time and too many resources which could have been saved if you had applied the right tool from the start.

In this exercise we demonstrate why it’s worth applying mathematics as an effective tool for your planning and how to use it properly.

Unit 1

Mathematical optimization – the right tool for your complex planning problems.

Go to unit

Unit 2

Prescriptive Analytics: Venture a look into the future!

Go to unit

Unit 1

Unit 1:
Mastering planning problems

Defining the problem, finding the tool

Classification

What does complex actually mean?

Before you select the tool you want, it’s important to understand what the nature of the task is which needs to be solved. A significant aspect is the complexity of the planning problem. Basically, mathematical optimization is the right tool for complex planning problems. But what do we mean when we talk about complex?

5 factors

Which aspects can make a planning problem become complex? The following list includes the five important aspects that lead to complexity.

A problem that has only 10 possible solutions is so transparent that it’s easy to find the best one. The more possible solutions a problem has, the more complex it becomes.

If the production steps are consecutive and each change triggers a chain of other changes, then your planning becomes complex.

Restrictions such as deadlines that need to be met and available resources complicate the planning process.

If you would like your costs to be as low as possible and also keep your stocks low at the same time, then meeting both of these goals means your planning becomes complex.

Variables change constantly, restrictions are set or goals redefined. The problem must be solved fast so that the solution is in place before the conditions change once again, meaning that the solution you have no longer works.

The more of these aspects you have,  the more complex the planning problem becomes. Sometimes, it takes just one aspect to make planning become complex, even if it appears immaterial at first sight. Try it and see by planning your machine utilization based on our example below. Don’t worry: we’ve chosen delicious pralinés for our example.

Task

Optimizing the
production of chocolate boxes

A chocolate factory produces 5 different assortments of pralinés. All 5 assortments are produced in the same amount.

  1. Production stage: production
  2. Production stage: packaging
  3. Production stage: decoration

After the pralinés have been made in production stage 1, they are packed into boxes during stage 2. In phase 3, the boxes are decorated with a ribbon or sticker. The production time for each assortment is different for each stage. Bear in mind that phase 2 can only start once phase 1 has been fully completed. In addition, the manufacturer wants his production to be as efficient as possible and a production stage should take up as little time as necessary.

Simply print out the production planning task, cut it out and lay out the plan. You’ll see that it isn’t as easy as it initially seems.

The answer is 24

Essence

»Things are easier if you use the right tool – in fact, the right tool makes many things possible in the first place«

Unit 2

Unit 2:
Prescriptive Analytics

A calculable future

Prelude

What only mathematical optimization can do

Mathematical optimization is a multi-functional tool for all current planning tasks in day-to-day business. It becomes even more powerful when it is deployed for tasks in which we venture a look into the future and plan future events better.

These tools are called Prescriptive Analytics; like OPTANO. These allow recommendations for action to be calculated reliably for specific future events. Prescriptive Analytics run through different kinds of what-if scenarios. You can work out precisely which actions are needed to attain specific goals. It’s simply an ideal tool for the added value in your business.

There are many use case examples for such planning tasks: is it wise to open a new production facility? Which location would be most suitable for it? What effect would buying a new machine  have on my production?

It’s believed that only 30% of companies deploy Prescriptive Analytics at present. Therefore, it is worth exploring the limits of what they can do and venturing a look into the future together with OPTANO.

Essence

»If you know what you want to achieve, Prescriptive Analytics knows how«

Homework № 4

Homework № 4: How many grains of rice did Sissa get?

Finally! Homework that you actually enjoy doing! As mathematicians and software engineers, we love solving puzzles. This is why we would like you to solve a little brain teaser at the end of each exercise.

The legend surrounding the invention of chess involves the exponential growth of a problem: The Indian King Shihram was so taken with the game that he wanted to reward its inventor, Sissa, by granting him any wish, no matter how large. He replied: ” Master, give me one grain of rice for the first field on the chessboard, 2 grains for the second, 4 for the third and for every further field twice as many grains as that of the one before.” The king was insulted since he wasn’t aware of the magnitude of the wish.

Can you work out just how modest or greedy the inventor’s wish was? Send us the exact number of all the grains of rice that the king had to give to the inventor. Tip: Use math to solve the problem!

 

Send your answer

Prizes

1st Prize:

A photoshoot styled on our campaign

If your name is drawn, you will have the opportunity to choose a theme of your choice for your personal photoshoot. It can be your hobby, a business issue, whatever you want. The only condition is that it is complex enough and fits on a 1x1m table. The photoshoot will take place in Bielefeld, Germany. Travel expenses within Germany as well as an overnight stay in a hotel are included in the prize.

2nd – 5th Prizes:

A hardback edition of  »Things Come Apart.« by McLellan

6th – 10th Prizes:

Game »Die Kunst Aufzuräumen«

Legal Notice:

Dissembled objects will not be reassembled. Further technical agreements concerning the photoshoot will be clarified with you in advance. The photo shoot will take place in Bielefeld. The winner and OPTANO will be assigned the rights to the finished product once the negatives have been handed over.

Legal Announcement

Conditions of Participation

This competition isn’t just for glory and prestige! Our first prize is a photoshoot in the style of our campaign. Conditions: You correctly answer all 10 of our fairly mind-boggling questions in our Exercise! Campaign. You can follow our campaign in our newsletter which you will receive as soon as a new exercise is online.

The competition closes in fall 2020.

Show terms and conditions

Answer

Send us your correct answer!

Send us the correct answer including your first and surname, address and telephone number using the contact form below.

    We only use the E-mail address you provide us in order to reply to you. We undertake not to forward your details to third parties except in the case of judicial orders. Details such as first and/or surnames as well as titles are provided on a voluntary basis and are only used by us to address you personally. More information on this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

Exercise № 4

Ein mächtiges Werkzeug

Auf das richtige Werkzeug kommt es an!

Erfahrung und Können sind in jedem Job wichtig. Nicht nur im Handwerk spielt die Wahl des richtigen Werkzeugs die entscheidende Rolle. Um professionelle Entscheidungen zu treffen, macht die Wahl der Mittel die Bewältigung der anstehenden Aufgaben nicht nur einfacher – in vielen Fällen macht es sie überhaupt erst möglich.

Das bedeutet im Umkehrschluss, dass das falsche Werkzeug zu Problemen führen kann: Im schlimmsten Fall investiert man viel Kraft und Zeit, ohne zum gewünschten Ergebnis zu kommen, oder man richtet sogar Schaden an.

Genauso verhält es sich mit Planungsproblemen. Natürlich kann man Planung manuell lösen und aus der Erfahrung und Einschätzung heraus einen Plan erstellen. Ab einer gewissen Größenordnung jedoch kostet so ein Vorgehen zu viel Zeit und Ressourcen, die man sich mit dem richtigen Werkzeug hätte sparen können.

In dieser Exercise zeigen wir auf, warum es sich lohnt, sich mit Mathematik als effektivem Werkzeug für Ihre Planung zu beschäftigen und sie sinnvoll einzusetzen.

Unit 1

Mathematische Optimierung – das richtige Werkzeug für komplexe Planungsprobleme.

Zur Unit springen

Unit 2

Prescriptive Analytics: Wagen Sie einen Blick in die Zukunft!

Zur Unit springen

Unit 1

Unit 1:
Planungsprobleme meistern

Problem erfassen, Werkzeug finden

Einordnung

Was heißt eigentlich komplex?

Bevor man das Werkzeug wählt, sollte man verstehen, welcher Natur die Aufgabe ist, die es zu lösen gilt. Ein maßgeblicher Aspekt ist die Komplexität des Planungsproblems. Grundsätzlich ist mathematische Optimierung das richtige Werkzeug für komplexe Planungsprobleme. Aber was heißt eigentlich komplex?

5 Faktoren

Welche Aspekte führen dazu, dass ein Planungsproblem komplex wird? Die folgende Liste enthält die fünf wichtigsten Faktoren, die zu Komplexität führen.

Ein Problem mit nur 10 Lösungsmöglichkeiten ist so überschaubar, dass man die beste Lösung leicht findet. Je mehr Lösungsmöglichkeiten ein Problem hat umso unübersichtlicher wird es.

Wenn die (Produktions-)schritte aufeinander aufbauen und sich durch jede Änderung eine Kette an Änderungen ergibt, wird die Planung komplex.

Einschränkungen wie zu erfüllende Termine und vorhandene Ressourcen erschweren den Planungsprozess.

Wenn man zugleich möglichst geringe Kosten und einen möglichst kleinen Lagerbestand möchte, macht die Erfüllung beider Ziele die Planung komplex.

Variablen ändern sich beständig, neue kommen hinzu oder Einschränkungen werden neu formuliert. Die Problemlösung muss also schnell ablaufen, damit die Lösung steht, bevor sich die Rahmenbedingungen erneut geändert haben und die gefundene Lösung ungültig ist.

Je mehr dieser Aspekte zusammenkommen, umso komplexer ist ein Planungsproblem. Manchmal reicht ein einziger Aspekt, damit eine Planungsaufgabe komplex wird, selbst wenn sie zunächst trivial erscheinen mag. Probieren Sie es selbst aus und planen Sie die Maschinenbelegung in unserem Beispiel. Keine Angst: Es geht um köstliche Pralinen!

Task

Pralinenschachtel-
produktion optimieren

In einer Pralinenfabrik werden 5 verschiedene Sorten Pralinen hergestellt. Von den 5 Sorten wird immer die gleiche Anzahl produziert.

  1. Produktionsschritt: Produktion
  2. Produktionsschritt: Verpackung
  3. Produktionsschritt: Dekoration

Die Produktionsdauer ist für jedes Produkt für jeden Schritt unterschiedlich. Zu beachten ist, dass Produktionsschritt 2 erst starten kann, wenn Produktionsschritt 1 vollständig abgeschlossen ist. Ebenso verhält es sich mit den Schritten 3 und 2.

Der Fabrikant wünscht sich zudem, dass seine Produktion möglichst effizient ist und ein Produktionsdurchlauf so wenig Zeit wie nötig in Anspruch nimmt. Die Aufgabe lautet dementprechend: Planen Sie die Produktion der 5 Pralinensorten so, dass der Gesamtzeitraum, den man benötigt um 1 Schachtel von jeder Sorte herzustellen, möglichst gering ist.

Einfach die Produktionsplanung ausdrucken, ausschneiden und den Plan legen. Sie werden sehen, es ist nicht so trivial, wie es auf den ersten Blick scheint.

Die optimale Lösung dauert 24 Zeiteinheiten. Haben Sie es hinbekommen?

Essence

»Mit dem richtigen Werkzeug werden viele Dinge einfacher – manche überhaupt erst möglich!«

Unit 2

Unit 2:
Prescriptive Analytics

Die Zukunft berechenbar machen

Vorschau

Was nur mathematische Optimierung kann

Mathematische Optimierung ist ein Multifunktionswerkzeug für alle aktuellen Planungsaufgaben im Tagesgeschäft. Noch mächtiger wird es, wenn man es für solche Aufgaben einsetzt, bei denen man einen Blick in die Zukunft wagen und zukünftige Ereignisse besser planen möchte.

Solche Werkzeuge bezeichnet man als Prescriptive Analytics. So wie OPTANO. Damit lassen sich Handlungsempfehlungen für bestimmte in der Zukunft liegende Ereignisse zuverlässig berechnen. Prescriptive Analytics spielen Was-wäre-wenn-Szenarien in verschiedenen Varianten durch. Es lässt sich stets exakt berechnen, welche Aktionen nötig sind, um bestimmte Ziele zu erreichen. Ein perfektes Tool für die Wertschöpfung in Unternehmen.

Anwendungsbeispiele für solche Planungsaufgaben gibt es viele: Ist es sinnvoll, eine neue Produktionsstätte zu eröffnen? Welcher Standort wäre dafür am besten geeignet? Wie wirkt sich die Anschaffung einer neuen Maschine auf meine Produktion aus?

Man geht davon aus, dass heute erst 30 % der Unternehmen Prescriptive Analytics einsetzen. Es lohnt sich also, mit OPTANO die Grenzen des Machbaren auszuloten und einen Blick in die Zukunft zu wagen.

Essence

»Wenn Sie wissen, was Sie erreichen wollen, weiß Presprictive Analytics wie

Homework № 4

Vorschau

Homework № 4: Wie viele Reiskörner erhält Sissa?

Endlich mal Hausaufgaben, die Spaß machen! Weil wir als Mathematiker und Softwareingenieure Spaß an Tüfteleien haben, laden wir Sie zum Abschluss jeder Exercise dazu ein, ein kleines Rätsel zu lösen. Dieses mal geht es in unserem Bilderrätsel darum, Ihre Achtsamkeit zu schulen.

Die Größe eines Problems thematisiert die Legende über die Erfindung des Schachspiels: Der indische Kaiser Sheram wollte den Erfinder des Schach, Sissa, unbedingt belohnen, da er großen Gefallen an seinem Spiel gefunden hatte. Sissa durfte seinen Wunsch für die Belohnung äußern und sollte nicht zu bescheiden sein. Er sagte: »Gebieter befiel, mir für das erste Feld des Schachbrettes 1 Reiskorn auszuhändigen, 2 Körner für das zweite Feld, 4 für das dritte und für jedes weitere Feld doppelt so viele Körner wie für das vorhergehende«. Der Kaiser fühlte sich gekränkt da ihm das Ausmaß des Wunsches noch nicht bewusst war.

Können Sie abschätzen, wie bescheiden oder gierig der Wunsch des Erfinders war? Senden Sie uns die exakte Anzahl aller Reiskörner, die der Kaiser an den Erfinder Sissa zahlen musste. Tipp: Mathematik hilft bei der Lösung!

 

Lösung absenden

Gewinne und Preise

1. Preis:

Ein Fotoshooting im Stil unserer Kampagne.
Wenn Sie ausgelost werden, gewinnen Sie ein Fotoshooting zu einem Thema nach Ihrer Vorgabe, z.B. Ihrem Hobby oder einem Unternehmensthema. Voraussetzung ist, dass es komplex genug ist und auf einen Tisch von 1 x 1 m passt. Das Fotoshooting findet in Bielefeld statt. Eine Anreise aus Deutschland sowie eine Übernachtung im Hotel sind im Gewinn inbegriffen.

2. – 5. Preis:

Hardcover von »Things Come Apart.« von McLellan

6. – 10. Preis:

Spiel »Die Kunst Aufzuräumen«

Rechtliche Hinweise:
Demontierte Gegenstände werden nicht wieder montiert. Weitere, z.B. technisch bedingte Abstimmungen, werden im Rahmen der Bildumsetzung vorab mit Ihnen geklärt. Mit dem fertigen Motiv gehen Nutzungsrechte an Sie und an OPTANO über.

Rechtliches

Teilnahmebedingungen

Hier rätseln Sie nicht nur für Ruhm und Ehre! Unser Hauptgewinn ist ein Fotoshooting im Stil unserer Kampagne. Voraussetzung: Sie beantworten alle 10 mehr oder weniger kniffeligen Hausaufgaben unserer Homeworks zur Kampagne Exercise! korrekt. Am einfachsten können Sie unsere Kampagne über unseren Newsletter verfolgen, den wir Ihnen immer zusenden, sobald eine neue Exercise online ist.
Abgeschlossen wird das Spiel bis zum Herbst 2020.

Teilnahmebedinungen anzeigen

Lösung

Senden Sie die richtige Lösung an uns!

Senden Sie die richtige Lösung unter Angabe Ihrer Kontaktdaten mit Vor- und Zuname, Adresse und Telefonnummer einfach über das nachstehende Antwortformular.

    Die von Ihnen angegebene E-Mail-Adresse wird nur für Antworten verwendet. Eine darüberhinausgehende Weitergabe an Dritte ist – abgesehen von etwaigen richterlichen Anordnungen – ausgeschlossen. Die Angaben von Vor- und/oder Nachname sowie Anrede sind freiwillig und dienen nur Ihrer persönlichen Ansprache. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.