Exercise № 8

Become measurable,
stay measurable!

Become precise!

A lot of things stand in the way of good planning: vague details, hazy ideas, unclear categories and parameters. An idea is just an idea if it isn’t measurable.

The moment your idea becomes reality, everybody should find it comprehensible and verifiable.In other words: becoming precise means being measurable! And precisely in the category which should be improved. Weight, quantity, speed, etc: for all these you need the right measuring instrument and, last but not least, the best options to display your good measurement results.

This is the only way you can keep your goal in focus. This isn’t just important for you personally but also for anyone who needs to evaluate the project based on sound arguments. This exercise is a step-by-step guide on how to achieve this goal –  Quod est demonstrandum!

Unit 1

Get smarter: Compare your goals with and without the S.M.A.R.T. method!

Go to unit

Unit 2

Mini Tutorials: Displaying measuring results clearly and bringing people up to date!

Go to unit

Unit 1

Unit 1:
Guiding principle

Become measurable!

Comparing goals

How S.M.A.R.T are you?

You may already be familiar with the S.M.A.R.T method. This method helps you set your most important project goals. The letters stand for the qualities of your goal:

Specific,

Measurable,

Attractive,

Realistic,

Time-bound.

Get to know the S.M.A.R.T parameters more closely and use our example to discover whether you can become more specific and thus more measurable!

Side-by-Side Comparison

Define the difference!

A company supplies facility management services within a 200 km radius. It employs around 250 service technicians. Appointments can be made for a service engineer to come out via the customer service hotline.

The company’s goal is that they send out technicians as soon as early as possible once a call from a client comes in. A further goal is effective route planning with short journey times so that more time can be spent at the client, thus improving customer satisfaction. Can that be achieved more specifically? Yes –  with S.M.A.R.T.!

Goal 1:

„We have to improve our planning process for appointments.“

Formulate your goal clearly and concisely without any scope for interpretation :

“We will improve our planning process for call-outs by streamlining and accelerating and in order to reduce travel costs, increase the time spent with the client and thus to achieve increased customer satisfaction.”

Goal 2:

„We have to reduce our costs and generate more appointments with clients.“

Support your target using quantitative data (KPIs) and intermediary steps as a guide for feasibility!

„We aim to gradually reduce our travel expenses by 7.5% and increase the productive time spent at clients‘ by 12.5% by 2023.“

Goal 3:

„We will deploy planning software.“

Define your goal attractively so that it is well-received by management and employees, without appearing too ambitious.”

„We will support our planning process using an adaptable optimization software which puts into relation journey times and appointments. We will include our employees in the installation of the system so that they acquire the practical experience necessary, thus ensuring that everybody can use the system.“

Goal 4:

„We have to reduce our travel costs by about 25% per quarter.“

Define your goal so that it appears achievable in order to avoid high expectations and prevent any frustration. Part-goals will be .. in connection with the overall situation (By the way, various realistic scenarios can be developed with OPTANO, by the way):

„Based on various future scenarios we first want to aim at reducing travel costs by 5% at most by the end of the year and in the next year by a further 2%“

Goal 5:

„Everything has to be implemented and achieved as soon as possible.”

Your goal needs to have a deadline so that you can keep the measures in focus. This deadline must and should define intermediary goals and include longer time periods:

„The optimization software for the planning system should be installed by 07/2021. Firstly, we’ll aim for a maximum cost reduction of 2% and a 3.5% increase in our productive call-out time at the client six months after having installed the software. After one year, we should have reached 3% and 5% respectively.”

Essence

»Once you have applied S.M.A.R.T: in a project, you will want to optimize your entire business with it.«

Unit 2

Unit 2:
Visualization

Display your numbers!


Tutorial-Links

Why not take a look at our blogs to get an impression of how convincing you can present your KPIs:

Tables, diagrams, maps, graphs and pivot charts
(https://optano.com/en/tables-and-charts-performing-arts-for-your-numbers/)

And our favorite – the pivot chart: It’s so easy to create in OPTANO
(https://optano.com/en/pivot-charts-simply-wonderful/)

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

PGRpdiBjbGFzcz0iX2JybGJzLWZsdWlkLXdpZHRoLXZpZGVvLXdyYXBwZXIiPjxpZnJhbWUgdGl0bGU9IkVyc3RlbGxlbiBlaW5lciBQaXZvdC1UYWJlbGxlIiBzcmM9Imh0dHBzOi8vcGxheWVyLnZpbWVvLmNvbS92aWRlby8xNzc5ODA0ODI/ZG50PTEmYW1wO2FwcF9pZD0xMjI5NjMiIHdpZHRoPSI0NTYiIGhlaWdodD0iMzYwIiBmcmFtZWJvcmRlcj0iMCIgYWxsb3c9ImF1dG9wbGF5OyBmdWxsc2NyZWVuIiBhbGxvd2Z1bGxzY3JlZW4+PC9pZnJhbWU+PC9kaXY+
Diagramm-Tutorial

Showing what you have achieved

Only very few people are able to visualize abstract KPIs in their head. What use are brilliant measurements and fantastic results if nobody can understand the numbers behind them?

There is a whole range of graphically visualized diagrams you can use that will help even the non-mathematicians to grasp the numbers. From a neurological perspective you can absorb these far better as they can be interpreted in image form. Here at OPTANO we have incorporated some of favourite diagram formats into our software so that scenarios and cost-benefit considerations can be visualized rapidly.

Essence

»Turn numbers into images and you’ll turn sceptics into enthusiasts.«

 

Homework № 8

Your goal in focus!

Finally! Homework that you actually doing! As mathematicians and software engineers, we love solving puzzles. This is why we’d like you to solve a little brainteaser at the end of each exercise. Our latest puzzle is all about probability.

Homework № 8: Keep your goal in focus!

A service engineer has an emergency appointment and needs to get to the client fast. He sets out in his car and drives at an average speed of 80 kph to ensure he gets to the client on time.

But, typical! Several roadworks and traffic jams mean that he only manages to do an average speed of 60kph for the first half of the journey. On average, how fast does he have to drive in the second half of the journey to ensure he gets there on time?

Note: We don’t know where the engineer starts his journey and this information is required to solve the puzzle.

Send your answer

Prizes

1st Prize:

A photoshoot styled on our campaign
If your name is drawn, you will have the opportunity to choose a theme of your choice for your personal photoshoot. It can be your hobby, a business issue, whatever you want. The only condition is that it is complex enough and fits on a 1x1m table. The photoshoot will take place in Bielefeld, Germany. Travel expenses within Germany as well as an overnight stay in a hotel are included in the prize.

2nd – 5th Prizes:

Hardcover edition of »Things Come Apart.« by McLellan

6th – 10th Prizes:

Game »Die Kunst Aufzuräumen«

Legal Notice:

Dissembled objects will not be reassembled. Further technical agreements concerning the photoshoot will be clarified with you in advance. The photo shoot will take place in Bielefeld. The winner and OPTANO will be assigned the rights to the finished product once the negatives have been handed over.

Legal Notice

Conditions of Participation

This competition isn’t just for glory and prestige! Our first prize is a photoshoot in the style of our campaign. Conditions: You correctly answer all 10 of our fairly mind-boggling questions in our Exercise! Campaign. You can follow our campaign in our newsletter which you will receive as soon as a new exercise is online.

The competition closes in autumn 2020.

Show Terms and Conditions

Your answer

Send your right answer to us!

Send the right answer including your contact details such as first and surname, address and telephone number by using the reply form below

We only use the E-mail address you provide us in order to reply to you. We undertake not to forward your details to third parties except in the case of judicial orders. Details such as first and/or surnames as well as titles are provided on a voluntary basis and are only used by us to address you personally. More information on this can be found in our Privacy Policy.

Exercise № 8

Messbar werden,
messbar sein!

Werden Sie konkret!

Es gibt viele Gegner einer guten Planung: vage Angaben, schwammige Vorstellungen, unklare Kategorien und Parameter. Eine Idee bleibt eben nur eine Idee, solange sie nicht messbar ist.

In dem Moment, wo Ihre Idee in die Realität eintritt, sollte sie für alle nachvollziehbar und überprüfbar sein – sprich: konkret werden, bedeutet messbar sein! Und zwar exakt in der Kategorie, die verbessert werden sollte. Gewicht, Stückzahl, Beschleunigung: dazu benötigen Sie das richtige Messgerät und nicht zuletzt die passenden Darstellungsoptionen, damit das gute Messergebnis auch sichtbar werden kann.

Nur damit behalten Sie Ihr Ziel vor Augen. Das ist nicht nur für Sie selbst wichtig, sondern auch und für diejenigen, die Ihr Projekt anhand von triftigen Argumenten beurteilen müssen. Wie Sie dahin kommen, spielen wir in dieser Exercise durch – Quod erat demonstrandum!

Unit 1

Get smarter: Vergleichen Sie Zielsetzungen ohne und mit der S.M.A.R.T. Methode!

Zur Unit springen

Unit 2

Mini-Tutorials: Messergebnisse anschaulich darstellen und andere abholen!

Zur Unit springen

Unit 1

Unit 1:
Leitprinzip

Messbar werden!

Zielsetzungen vergleichen

Sind Sie schon S.M.A.R.T. oder noch nicht?

Haben Sie vielleicht schon von der S.M.A.R.T.-Methode gehört? Mit ihr lassen sich die wichtigsten Projektziele festlegen. Die Lettern stehen für die Qualität der Zielsetzung:

Spezifisch,

Messbar,

Attraktiv,

Realistisch,

Termin-orientiert.

Lernen Sie hier die S.M.A.R.T.-Parameter genauer kennen und finden Sie in unserem Beispiel heraus, ob Sie mithilfe der S.M.A.R.T.-Methode noch konkreter, und damit messbarer, werden könnten!

Side-by-Side Vergleich

Definieren Sie den Unterschied!

Ein Unternehmen bietet Facility Management Dienste im Umkreis von 200 km an. Es beschäftigt rund 250 Servicetechniker. Im Kundenzentrum laufen die Terminanfragen für Einsätze auf.

Der Anspruch der Firma: Die Termine sollen zeitnah erfolgen. Ein weiteres Ziel ist ein effektiver Tourenplan mit wenig Fahrzeit, damit die Zeit am Einsatzort erhöht und so eine gute Kundenzufriedenheitsquote erzielt wird. Geht das evtl. etwas konkreter? Mit S.M.A.R.T. bekommen sie das hin!

Aussage 1:

„Wir müssen unseren Terminplanungsprozess verbessern.“

Formulieren Sie das Ziel aussagekräftig und unmissverständlich ohne Auslegungsspielraum neu!

„Wir werden unser Terminplanungsprozess verbessern, indem wir ihn vereinfachen und beschleunigen, um die Fahrkosten zu reduzieren, die produktive Vor-Ort Zeit zu erhöhen und dadurch erhöhte Kundenzufriedenheit zu erzielen.“

Aussage 2:

„Wir müssen unsere Kosten minimieren und mehr Vor-Ort-Einsätze erzeugen.“

Stützen Sie das Ziel durch quantitative Angaben (KPIs) und Zwischenschritte als Orientierungspunkte für die Machbarkeit!

„Wir werden darauf zielen, unsere Fahrkosten schrittweise um 7,5 % zu reduzieren und die produktiven Vor-Ort-Einsätze bis 2023 um 12,5 % zu erhöhen.“

Aussage 3:

„Wir werden eine Software für die Terminplanung einsetzen.“

Definieren Sie Ihr Ziel hinreichend attraktiv, so dass es von Führungskräften und beteiligten Mitarbeitern gut angenommen wird, aber nicht zu ambitioniert erscheint.

„Wir werden unseren Terminplanungsprozess durch eine anpassungsfähige Optimierungssoftware unterstützen, die Fahrzeiten und Vor-Ort-Einsätze ins Verhältnis setzt. Wir werden unsere Mitarbeiter in die Einführung des Systems einbeziehen, so dass deren praktische Erfahrung einfließt und alle das System nachher einfach bedienen können.“

Aussage 4:

„Wir müssen die Fahrkosten um ein Viertel pro Quartal verringern.“

Definieren Sie Ihr Ziel so, dass es erreichbar erscheint, um zu hohen Erwartungsdruck auszuhebeln und Frustration vorzubeugen. Teilziele werden im Zusammenhang mit der Gesamtsituation betrachtet (verschiedene realistische Szenarien lassen sich übrigens mit Hilfe von OPTANO ausarbeiten):

„In Anbetracht verschiedener Zukunftsszenarien zielen wir zunächst auf eine Minimierung der Fahrkosten um höchstens 5 % bis zum Jahresende und im darauf folgende Jahr um weitere 2 %.“

Aussage 5:

„Wir müssen alles möglichst bald umsetzen und erreichen.“

Ihr Ziel muss mit einer Frist verbunden sein, damit Sie die Maßnahmen im Fokus behalten können. Diese Frist darf und soll Zwischenziele definieren und sie soll längere Zeiträume umfassen:

„Die Optimierungssoftware für das Terminplanungssystem soll bis 07/2021 eingeführt werden. Wir zielen zunächst auf maximal 2 % Kostenreduzierung und 3,5 % Erhöhung der produktiven Vor-Ort-Einsätze nach einem halben Jahr nach Einführung der Software. Nach einem Jahr sollen die Werte 3 % und 5 % erreicht werden.“

Essence

»Wenn du S.M.A.R.T. einmal im Projekt angewendet hast, willst du dein gesamtes Unternehmen damit optimieren.«

Unit 2

Unit 2:
Darstellung

Zahlen sichtbar machen!


Tutorial-Links

Nutzen Sie unseren Blog, um sich ein Bild über die Überzeugungskraft der Kennzahlenaufbereitung zu machen:

Tabellen, Diagramme, Karten, Graphen, Gantt- und Pivot-Diagramme
(https://optano.com/de/diagramme-darstellende-kunst-fuer-zahlen/)

Unser Favorit, die Pivot-Tabelle: So einfach ist das Erstellen in OPTANO
(https://optano.com/de/pivot-tabellen-einfach-maechtig/)

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

PGRpdiBjbGFzcz0iX2JybGJzLWZsdWlkLXdpZHRoLXZpZGVvLXdyYXBwZXIiPjxpZnJhbWUgdGl0bGU9IkVyc3RlbGxlbiBlaW5lciBQaXZvdC1UYWJlbGxlIiBzcmM9Imh0dHBzOi8vcGxheWVyLnZpbWVvLmNvbS92aWRlby8xNzc5ODA0ODI/ZG50PTEmYW1wO2FwcF9pZD0xMjI5NjMiIHdpZHRoPSI0NTYiIGhlaWdodD0iMzYwIiBmcmFtZWJvcmRlcj0iMCIgYWxsb3c9ImF1dG9wbGF5OyBmdWxsc2NyZWVuIiBhbGxvd2Z1bGxzY3JlZW4+PC9pZnJhbWU+PC9kaXY+
Diagramm-Tutorial

Sichtbar machen, was erreicht wurde

Nur wenigen Menschen ist es gegeben, abstrakte Kennzahlen mittels Vorstellungskraft in Bilder zu überführen. Was bedeuten herausragende Messungen und bahnbrechende Ergebnisse, wenn man diese Zahlen nicht begreifen kann?

Damit es auch mit durchschnittlichem Auffassungsvermögen gelingen kann, Zahlen zu verstehen, gibt es grafisch aufbereitete Diagramme. Sie sind aus neurologischer Perspektive viel besser aufzunehmen, weil sie als Bild interpretiert werden können. Wir bei OPTANO haben dazu einige unserer Diagramm-Favoriten in die Software eingebaut, damit Szenarien und Kosten-Nutzen-Abwägungen schnell sichtbar gemacht werden können.

Essence

»Verwandle Zahlen in Bilder und du machst Skeptiker zu Überzeugten.«

 

Homework № 8

Das Ziel vor Augen!

Endlich mal Hausaufgaben, die Spaß machen! Weil wir als Mathematiker und Softwareingenieure Spaß an Tüfteleien haben, laden wir Sie zum Abschluss jeder Exercise dazu ein, ein kleines Rätsel zu lösen. Dieses mal geht es um Wahrscheinlichkeitsrechnung.

Homework № 8: Das Ziel vor Augen!

Ein Servicetechniker muss spontan zu einem Kundenbesuch. Der Techniker startet mit seinem Dienstwagen und fährt so, dass er mit einer durchschnittlichen Geschwindigkeit von 80 km/h rechtzeitig beim Kunden ankommt.

Doch es kommt, wie es kommen muss: Wegen diverser Baustellen und Staus schafft er auf der ersten Hälfte der Strecke nur einen Schnitt von 60 km/h. Wie schnell muss er auf der zweiten Hälfte durchschnittlich fahren, um trotzdem pünktlich anzukommen?

Ein Hinweis: Wir wissen nicht, wo der Techniker gestartet ist – und diese Information ist für die Lösung der Aufgabe auch nicht erforderlich.

 

 

Lösung absenden

Gewinne und Preise

1. Preis:

Ein Fotoshooting im Stil unserer Kampagne.
Wenn Sie ausgelost werden, gewinnen Sie ein Fotoshooting zu einem Thema nach Ihrer Vorgabe, z.B. Ihrem Hobby oder einem Unternehmensthema. Voraussetzung ist, dass es komplex genug ist und auf einen Tisch von 1 x 1 m passt. Das Fotoshooting findet in Bielefeld statt. Eine Anreise aus Deutschland sowie eine Übernachtung im Hotel sind im Gewinn inbegriffen.

2. – 5. Preis:

Hardcover von »Things Come Apart.« von McLellan

6. – 10. Preis:

Spiel »Die Kunst Aufzuräumen«

Rechtliche Hinweise:
Demontierte Gegenstände werden nicht wieder montiert. Weitere, z.B. technisch bedingte Abstimmungen, werden im Rahmen der Bildumsetzung vorab mit Ihnen geklärt. Mit dem fertigen Motiv gehen Nutzungsrechte an Sie und an OPTANO über.

Rechtliches

Teilnahmebedingungen

Hier rätseln Sie nicht nur für Ruhm und Ehre! Unser Hauptgewinn ist ein Fotoshooting im Stil unserer Kampagne. Voraussetzung: Sie beantworten alle 10 mehr oder weniger kniffeligen Hausaufgaben unserer Homeworks zur Kampagne Exercise! korrekt. Am einfachsten können Sie unsere Kampagne über unseren Newsletter verfolgen, den wir Ihnen immer zusenden, sobald eine neue Exercise online ist.
Abgeschlossen wird das Spiel bis zum Herbst 2020.

Teilnahmebedinungen anzeigen

Lösung

Senden Sie die richtige Lösung an uns!

Senden Sie die richtige Lösung unter Angabe Ihrer Kontaktdaten mit Vor- und Zuname, Adresse und Telefonnummer einfach über das nachstehende Antwortformular.

Die von Ihnen angegebene E-Mail-Adresse wird nur für Antworten verwendet. Eine darüberhinausgehende Weitergabe an Dritte ist – abgesehen von etwaigen richterlichen Anordnungen – ausgeschlossen. Die Angaben von Vor- und/oder Nachname sowie Anrede sind freiwillig und dienen nur Ihrer persönlichen Ansprache. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

    ]